Flu Arsenal – Build Yours Now!

It is time for me to stock my personal flu season arsenal. Every cold and flu season is a little bit different – something that worked really well last year may be just so-so this year. My first line of defense is something called d-Lenolate Plus – it is olive leaf, neem and homeopathics. I take 2 of these 4 times a day when I first notice symptoms. I usually know on the first dose if it is working.
If that isn’t quite taking care of my symptoms so that I can go to work and help all of you, I add oregano oil. Oregano oil kills lots of viruses, bacteria, parasites and fungus. It is really strong stuff – especially the kind that is at least 70 percent carvacrol. I like this in liquid veggie caps because the oil is just awful tasting– with the capsules, you get to swallow it without the nasty taste.
Occasionally, this doesn’t work as well as I would like it to. Then I usually add one or more of the following: zinc, vitamin C and/or nucleotides. These all help boost the immune system and speed healing. Nucleotides are relatively new – and also effective. On colds and flus, research shows that nucleotides can diminish the symptoms and duration of both. In research trials, nearly all patients on a therapeutic course of nucleotides reported significantly less discomfort associated with the symptoms of colds and flu and experienced a substantially accelerated recovery.
These products are in my first aid cabinet during the fall/winter for colds and flus. I then like to add something to help break up coughs and congestion. I have 2 favorites – fenugreek and thyme (in combination so it counts as 1 thing) and a herbal blend with osha in a liquid gel cap that really seems to work well on the pesky middle of the night coughs.
Everything I mentioned above is tablet or capsule form now that my son is old enough to swallow pills. I still recommend liquid forms for those who need them. For the younger set, I have 2 favorites – colloidal silver and elderberry chewables. Both of these interfere with a virus or bacteria’s ability to reproduce and overrun your system. I particularly like silver for stomach viruses because it is very gentle, but usually very effective.
A couple of years ago, we added a really strong tasting liquid called Cold and Sinus Blaster – it does just that. I like it for breaking up congestion and speeding up recovery. There are many other supplements that work. Everyone is a little bit different – one customer uses astragalus and zinc. Another uses echinacea and vitamin C. Others swear by oscillo.
Natural supplements work best when taken at the first symptoms of cold or flu – I go with the early and often theory because it is bad for my business if I get sick.
I also need to mention my favorite immune builders. The first is olive leaf – the one I like best is d-Lenolate as it is a patented extract that stays in the body longer than other olive leaf extracts. The only time I get sick is when I run out of this – it’s my personal immune builder. I also recommend Elderberry Defense which is either a capsule or a chewable. I find that taking one of these on a regular basis keeps immune systems strong so they are more resistant to sickness to begin with – and if you do get sick, a strong immune system lessens your symptoms and helps you recover faster.

TGH Banner 10PctDiscount

 

About NaturalCowgirl

Margaret Durst has been involved with natural health for over 20 years. In her early 30s, she was faced with a medical diagnosis that recommended a lifetime of prescription drugs. In her heart, she knew that there must be an alternative way to healing and health and thus began her journey into natural health. Along the way, Margaret has trained with many different natural health practitioners and earned a degree in Naturopathy. She established her nutritional consulting practice and opened The Green House in 2003 to enable her mission of helping people navigate the natural health maze. People have praised Margaret for intuitive ability to help people address their health issues and goals with diet and lifestyle choices and successfully take responsibility for their health and wellbeing. This comes from Margaret’s deeply held beliefs in the body’s innate ability to heal and in the tools nature provides for health and healing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Flu Arsenal – Build Yours Now!

  1. sherrytx says:

    I really appreciate your articles. Please consider adding a graphic to your posts so that they can be Pinned on Pinterest.

  2. Tracy Green says:

    Hi Margret, I have a new email address- Tracyjgreen1018@gmail.com

    Would love to continue to receive your news letters at new address. Thank you so much!

    Will be placing an order soon for more supplements!

    Blessings to you, Tracy

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

