EHV-1 – Immune Support

Today I learned about the devastating effects of the EHV-1 (equine herpes virus – 1). The current outbreak is apparently highly contagious and much more severe than previous outbreaks. There are horses in several western states that are confirmed to have the virus. From the news I have read, there is one case in Texas in a horse that attended the cutting horse show in Utah.

Please be careful if you are traveling to equine events – google EHV-1 and you will get lots of information from several state’s vet schools. It is all good and practical.
My focus is prevention. You may or may not have vaccinated and if you did, the vaccine may or may not work.

I have both of my horses on  Immune Support.   It is a really great immune booster that I have used for several years. I like to start feeding it the day I leave home and continue to feed it a couple of days after I get home from any equine event. It seems to keep my immune challenged, over bred, but very nice gelding from getting “show bugs”. I put a scoop in each feed bucket tonight and will continue until I get enough information that I feel comfortable quitting.

I started feeding this supplement several years ago because my gelding would always come home from a show with a runny nose and would seem a little “jet lagged” after a show.   Since I started feeding this immune booster, he has been great .

I also feed it when I think one of my horses actually has a virus. I used this successfully when I suspected a case of West Nile.

While I don’t think my horses are at risk in this EHV-1 outbreak – they are both pasture pets right now with no neighbors – I will sleep better tonight knowing I fed an immune booster.
Please note that I am not a vet – the above is my opinion.
If you would like to purchase the Immune Herbs, click on the link to our online store – we will be happy to ship these tomorrow.

Please note that since I posted this article, I have discontinued Silver Lining Herbs.  While they are great products, I feel that they are no longer good value for the price.  I have started my own brand – Natural Cowgirl and have similar products made with quality ingredients that are better values.  If you are interested in knowing more about these, call or email me.  Thanks, Margaret – a.k.a. Natural Cowgirl.  Plus we now have a great track record on the Natural Cowgirl Immune Support –  show bugs, random coughs, West Nile, wound healing, colds, etc.  

TGH Banner KeepInformationFree

About NaturalCowgirl

Margaret Durst has been involved with natural health for over 20 years. In her early 30s, she was faced with a medical diagnosis that recommended a lifetime of prescription drugs. In her heart, she knew that there must be an alternative way to healing and health and thus began her journey into natural health. Along the way, Margaret has trained with many different natural health practitioners and earned a degree in Naturopathy. She established her nutritional consulting practice and opened The Green House in 2003 to enable her mission of helping people navigate the natural health maze. People have praised Margaret for intuitive ability to help people address their health issues and goals with diet and lifestyle choices and successfully take responsibility for their health and wellbeing. This comes from Margaret’s deeply held beliefs in the body’s innate ability to heal and in the tools nature provides for health and healing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

