Horses with EPM

This is a quick note to whoever is searching on olive leaf for horses with EPM. EPM is protozoal – in other words, I would not recommend olive leaf which tends to help with things viral and fungal. There are anti-protozoal herbs. Please contact me if you would like more information.

About NaturalCowgirl

Margaret Durst has been involved with natural health for over 20 years. In her early 30s, she was faced with a medical diagnosis that recommended a lifetime of prescription drugs. In her heart, she knew that there must be an alternative way to healing and health and thus began her journey into natural health. Along the way, Margaret has trained with many different natural health practitioners and earned a degree in Naturopathy. She established her nutritional consulting practice and opened The Green House in 2003 to enable her mission of helping people navigate the natural health maze. People have praised Margaret for intuitive ability to help people address their health issues and goals with diet and lifestyle choices and successfully take responsibility for their health and wellbeing. This comes from Margaret’s deeply held beliefs in the body’s innate ability to heal and in the tools nature provides for health and healing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Horses with EPM

  1. Bonnie says:

    My vet believes my 17-year old horse has EPM. I am getting ready to start Marquis. What anti-protozoal herbs to you recommend? And, where can I find them prepared for horses?
    Thank you,
    Bonnie

    • I used grapefruit seed extract with Marquis – it seemed to really help. Health food stores have them (including ours) – I recommend Capsules Plus by Nutribiotic.

      I also have used the Silver Lining herbs – they recommend the #13, #24, and #11 plus something for digestion – either the LCR or Digestive. I have had mixed results with these as far as EPM is concerned. (Please note that since this posting, I have started blending herbs for horses. I have had better results on EPM with these than the Silver Lining protocol.)

      If you are starting the Marquis – see how he does – if you feel you need to boost it, add the Capsules Plus.

      I think these are not on the online store, but if you call us, we would be glad to get them to you.

      • Mr. Todenoso says:

        After using Grapefruit seed extract did you get the results of healing and return to use of the horse?

      • I did. The trick with EPM is to catch it quick enough and be aggressive enough to actually stop it. The protozoa is insidious and you will know if you do not have it yet if the horse worsens at the full moon.

  2. http://mramishaphiyr.wordpress.com/ I started a blog about my horse and her fight with EPM. I plan to document before, during and after treatments… including images and videos. <3

Leave a Reply

